Hall of Fame 2013


Class of 2013 Hall of Fame

Dinner & Induction Ceremonies
Saturday, April 6, 2013


Class of 2013 Hall of Fame

The Selection Committee of the Maine Motorsports Hall of Fame recently announced the names of the individuals to be inducted into the hall of fame as the Class of 2013.

– LLOYD ‘BUTCH’ BURGESS JR. (deceased 2009), won three Late Model Sportsman (Pro Stock) championships at Unity Raceway; won over 45 feature races during a 23-year racing career; also raced at Wiscasset Speedway, Speedway 95, Oxford Plains Speedway and Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.
– MIKE D’AMICO Sr. (deceased) and MIKE D’AMICO Jr. (Scarborough), first father and son to be inducted together; Mike Sr. owned and built the original ‘Blue Deuce” driven by Ralph Cusack at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway; Mike Jr. won six car owner track championships with Ralph Cusack and Dick Garrett, also at Beech Ridge; associated with Dick McCabe on the NASCAR North Tour and Busch North Series.
– BOB HALLEE (Winslow), won Late Model Sportsman track championships at Speedway 95, Unity Raceway and Wiscasset Speedway during a fifteen-year career; a highly popular Ford driver.
– JON LIZOTTE (Lewiston), won four track championships (one Charger and three Figure Eight) at Oxford Plains Speedway; won over 100 races during 30-year career, including 86 Figure Eight victories; also raced on the ACT Tour and the NASCAR Busch North Series.
– KENNY LUND (Standish), won four track championships at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway – two Class ‘C’ titles and two Limited Sportsman titles – and two track championships at Wiscasset Speedway in a 20 plus-year racing career.
– RON SMITH (deceased), first dominant driver in the modern era of Oxford Plains Speedway, winning 17 races between 1964-1967 and the first two “modern era” track championships; racing career lasted less than ten years.